## United States Mint 801 9<sup>th</sup> Street NW Washington DC 20220 CCAC Telephonic Public Meeting

Tuesday, July 31, 2018

CCAC Members: US Mint Personnel:

Sheila Barnett Robert Hoge Betty Birdsong Erik Jansen Pam Borer Mary Lannin Vanessa Franck Michael Moran Mike Gaudioso Donald Scarinci Ron Harrigal Jeanne Stevens-Sollman Phebe Hemphill **Dennis Tucker** Joe Menna Thomas Uram April Stafford Herman Viola Megan Sullivan Heidi Wastweet Greg Weinman

- 1. Chairperson Lannin opened the meeting at 1:02 pm.
- 2. Chairperson Lannin announced that the sole topic of the telephonic meeting was to review the candidate designs for the 2018 American Innovations \$1 Coin Program.

Elizabeth Young

- 3. Betty Birdsong of the US Mint described the requirements for H.R. 770. The introductory coin will bear an obverse common to all coins in the program. It will consist of a likeness of the Statue of Liberty, and the inscriptions of "\$1" and "In God We Trust." The reverse of the introductory coin will be inscribed with "United States of America" and "American Innovators," and it will include a representation of President George Washington's signature on the first U.S. patent in 1790. The inscription of the year of minting or issuance, mint mark, and "E Pluribus Unum" will be edge-incused into all coins.
- 4. The Bill was signed into law on July 20, 2018, necessitating an abbreviated period for the process of design and production.

Committee member Dennis Tucker noted some conflicts within the bill:

The date and mint mark on the edge of the coin will be problematic for coin collectors.

There seems to be an inherent conflict in titling, as the program is named "American Innovation" but the text is "American Innovators".

- 6. Greg Weinman, Senior Legal Counsel, noted that Dennis' comments were for the record as the law mandated the text as "American Innovators" for the 2018 coin.
- 7. April Stafford, Office of Design Management, recapped the requirements of the legislation, noting the common obverse for this 15-year program must feature a likeness of the Statue of Liberty as well as the inscriptions "\$1" and "In God we Trust." As specified in the legislation, the year of minting, the mint mark, and the inscription "E. Pluribus Unum" will be incused on the edge of the coins. For the reverse, beginning in 2019, four coins will be released every year, one for each state, territory, and the District of Columbia. To start the program, the legislation allows for an introductory coin, to be released in 2018, with the reverse featuring George Washington's signature on the first United States patent as well as the inscriptions "American Innovators" and "United States of America."
- 8. An animated discussion of the reverse designs followed, with the Committee members universally expressing dissatisfaction with the options presented.
- 9. Mike Moran noted that the Committee was presented with only a single obverse for the next 15 years of the program and that was unacceptable, although the design itself had been created by Don Everhart, retired Lead Sculptor-Engraver for the US Mint in Philadelphia. The single design underscored the short time frame allowed to strike the 2018 coin, which would then carry through the series.
- 10. Dennis Tucker offered support for two designs, and Chairperson Lannin offered an alternative view of George Washington's signature for one design.
- 11. Mike Moran made a motion, seconded by Tom Uram, to decline to discuss the designs due to quality of design and the pressures from a tight deadline. The motion passed unanimously 10 0.
- 12. A motion was made by Chairperson Lannin, seconded by Robert Hoge, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously. Chairperson Lannin adjourned the meeting at 1:55 pm.